Lume vs Photoroom

A broad e-commerce editing suite spanning background removal, AI backgrounds and video. Lume takes a different route: instead of describing a scene or training a model, you pick one of 4,000+ ready-made scenes, upload your product, and generate. This page sets the two side by side on the things that actually decide the choice.

The short answer

Choose Lume if

You want a finished look chosen from a catalogue rather than assembled. Templates carry the lighting, surface, composition and props already, so the decision is which scene suits the product, not how to build one.

Choose Photoroom if

Its workflow fits how you already work. Plans meter two separate budgets: AI credits and image exports.

Photoroom pricing

Read from https://www.photoroom.com/pricing on 16 August 2026. Vendors change pricing often, so check the source before relying on these figures.

Plan Monthly Yearly (per month) Published allowance
Free $0 Not stated Not stated
Pro $12.99 $7.50 1,000 exports monthly
Max $34.99 $20.99 3,000 exports monthly
Ultra $99.00 $82.50 10,000 exports monthly
Enterprise Custom Not stated Not stated

What is worth knowing about Photoroom

  • Plans meter two separate budgets: AI credits and image exports.
  • 4K output is limited to the Ultra tier and above.
  • The free tier watermarks output and excludes commercial use.
  • The developer API is billed per image, separately from these plans.

How Lume works

Lume is built around a catalogue of 4,000+ scenes, each one designed as a complete photograph: a surface, a lighting setup, a composition and any props already arranged. You upload a product photo, pick the scene, and the product is placed into it. There is no prompt to write and no model to train, which is the main structural difference between Lume and most tools in this category.

Output resolution is chosen per generation at 1K, 2K or 4K, costing one, two or three credits. Aspect ratios are grouped into kits for square, social, e-commerce and ads, so one product shot can be produced in the shapes a listing and a paid campaign each need. Batch generation is part of the product rather than a separate tool, which matters once a catalogue runs past a few dozen items.

Plans run from a free tier with five credits up to Studio at $79 a month. Unused credits roll over, and generated images are yours to use commercially on every paid plan.

Picking between them

The honest split is about where you want the creative decisions to sit. Tools that generate from a description give you a wide space to explore and ask you to steer it. A template catalogue narrows the space deliberately: the scenes were designed in advance, so the work is selection rather than direction. Which is better depends entirely on whether you enjoy art-directing or want the result.

Cost comparisons across this category are harder than they look, because the units differ. Some vendors meter generated images, some meter credits weighted by operation, and some meter exports separately from generation. Before comparing headline prices, work out how many finished, usable images each plan actually yields for the way you work.

See the scenes for yourself

Browse 4,000+ product photography backgrounds. Free plan, no card needed.

Other comparisons